27 with gratitude

This morning I celebrated the completion of my 27th year of living alcohol free – 27 years to grow, 27 years that I was granted because someone had the courage to say to me “Are you sure you want to continue to live this way?”  27 years that enabled me to experience new adventures, new joys and even new sorrows – all with a clear mind and future looking attitude.  No, not every day, sometimes old habits die real hard – and although I may not have been drinking my “thinkin’ was stinkin” as they say – and I am one of the them.  There is not a day that goes by that I don’t thank my higher power and the love of friends and family for this clear and precious time I have been granted.  I heard something on the radio today that somehow seemed so very appropriate:

“Some people stay in hell because they are familiar with the streets”.

I am so glad that I found new streets to explore.  Life is very good – one day at a time.

ACC76A419A664E6E9675CCC1F4A8CDBD.ashx

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 27 with gratitude

  1. Cindy says:

    From a purely selfish point of view, Cherokee and I are also grateful for “them,” and for the person who asked the question that woke you up. Our lives are full of blessings partly because of the attitude you adopted and choices you made for the last 27 years. You helped to save us too. A few days late, but no less warmly meant, Happy Birthday to a great writer and a dog-painting, life-embracing, country-pacing, laughter-lacing landlady. We’ve enjoyed the journey and look forward to welcoming you home.

Leave a Reply

